Why stress management is important in workplace?

Xuewei Wang
Stress Management In Workplace
2 min readFeb 20, 2018

“What’s the most stressful situation you’ve faced at work so far? How did you handle it?”

Have you encountered this type of questions during an interview? Stress management is an important soft skill that the recruiters and employers seek for in workplace. Having an appropriate level of stress keeps employees highly productive and energetic. However, living with high level of stress may cause an opposite effect on work performance as well as physical and psychological healthy problems. Stress management is an effective skill to self-regulate the stress level and make you become a qualitied employee in workplace.

As a college student, I have already been surrounded by some sort of stress from the heavy workload and continual exams schedules as well as the pressures of finding internships and preparing for Graduate Record Examinations. Stress management may become a powerful assistance in my study life. It could also help me to adopt the intense work pace in workplace in the future. Therefore, I would like to focus on researching the effective self- regulating techniques for dealing with stress I workplace and generating an experiment to find out the most helpful ways of relieving stress. I hope this may benefit every students or employees who would like to adjust their stress levels and perform more productive outcomes.

In this project, I would like to figure out the answers for several questions. For instance, how to find the level of stress that could generate a productive outcome and do not have a negative impact on the healthy and daily life. I think this is a really interesting question since we all want to utilize the advantages that stress brought to be as efficient as possible.

My ultimate goal of this five days experiment is to find the most convenient and effective techniques and share them with the people need them. I will do a detailed research before the experiment. Then I have scheduled a week and assigned a nearly equal amount of workload to each day. Then I will apply one new technique each day. In the end of the day, I will write a short reflection of that day. In the end of the experiment, I will have a summary for all the techniques and come up with a complete list of techniques that are helpful and effective.

--

--