Stribling Insiders: Benjamin Melting

Stribling & Associates
StriblingInsiders
Published in
3 min readFeb 20, 2019

Not many people can say they’ve visited all seven continents; even less can say they did so before the age of 30. Meet Benjamin Melting. While based in Stribling’s Chelsea office, Ben’s travel bug takes him all over the world. He’s a true agent on the go, and can broker deals just as well from abroad as he can here in NYC. A native New Yorker, Ben really knows the ins and outs of the neighborhoods and is able to transfer that firsthand knowledge to his buyers and sellers. We caught up with Ben about why he chose real estate and his favorite travel destination (so far!)

Benjamin Melting

When did you first get into residential real estate and why?

Following my time in Sydney, Australia (Post College Graduation), I moved to Seattle, WA in 2005. It was here, I sort of “fell into” the real estate industry. I was going to a lot of open houses looking for places to live and realized I could probably do a better job at selling than the agents I kept meeting.

What is your favorite part about being a real estate agent?

I think most agents would say they enjoy being their own boss. I say, the daily “unknown.” Who will be my next customer? What kind of property will he or she want? Some might see this as the scarier part of the industry, not knowing where their next paycheck is coming from; I see this as the ultimate “daily” challenge.

Why did you choose Stribling & Associates?

I am a native New Yorker, born and raised in Manhattan. I had always known Stribling & Associates as the “gold standard” when it came to the New York real estate industry, and was both honored and privileged when they extended me the invitation to join.

Do you have a favorite neighborhood and why?

As a native New Yorker, I have always loved exploring my city. I was raised on the Upper West Side and spent much of my school-aged life on the Upper East Side. I can confidently say I do not have a single “favorite” as all the bustling neighborhoods of the five boroughs have something unique and beautiful to offer independent of one another.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

In my spare time, I love spending time with friends and family, hours on Museum Mile, international travel, horseback riding, and volunteering.

What is an achievement of which you are most proud?

The real estate industry has always been a numbers game. If the numbers don’t add up, the deal dies. In 2008, when both the mortgage and real estate industries were on the verge of collapse, I went back to college and earned a Master’s Degree in Finance. My degree has made me more focused on the “numbers,” which is at the very foundation of every deal I do.

Favorite movie?

The Academy award nominated documentary “Free Solo.”

Favorite travel destination?

As someone who had stepped foot on all seven continents before the age of thirty, this is a hard question to answer. Probably the most memorable would be the great white continent, Antarctica.

Favorite Meal?

I love many of the restaurants New York City has to offer, but my favorite restaurateur to date, is Jean Georges.

If you weren’t a real estate agent, what would you be?

Travel critic.

--

--