7-seas
Stroganov Hotel
Published in
4 min readMar 28, 2016

--

Beautiful lunch breaks in Fiais da Beira, Portugal

Fiais da Beira

Lunch break is one of the best moments of the day no matter where you live or work. Because it is time to stretch up your legs, share some laughs with colleagues and enjoy a delicious meal before you go back to work fully charged!

Lunch break gives you the chance to truly discover something more about the area where you work and make new friends. This time I am sharing what I usually do. So if you haven't made lunch plans yet, take a walk with me…

Last year I was having my lunch breaks in Oxford Circus´ parks, back in London, city where I happily lived and worked for a year before unexpectedly moving to the heart of Portugal and started working in a beautiful little village: Fiais da Beira. Complete change of scenery, right?
You will see why I fell in love with the center of Portugal!

Fiais da Beira

So, during lunch time my colleagues and I usually have the meal quickly. Leaving enough time to have a walk around the village and visit its monuments or just go straight to the coffee shop instead to meet our local new friends, who were most welcoming and friendly from day one.

Every day we enjoy peaceful moments at this typical ancient Portuguese village that is surrounded by beautiful forests, clean rivers nearby like Mondego and Seia, and views to the highest mountain range of Portugal mainland: Estrela Mountains.

So lets begin our little tour!

The first thing I would like showing is the haystacks of Fiais da Beira, which is a group of 75 granite buildings over a massive granite slab designed for the process of production and storage of cereals that makes everyone I take travel back in time, and is still being used by several neighbors.

Fiais da Beira´s Haystacks

And then just a short walk away from the hotel, in the woods, there is the Cavada Dolmen of Fiais da Beira, a sepulchral historical megalithic monument perpetuated in the green scenery built in the Period Neolithic, about the millennium IV before Christ. One of many prehistorical monuments in the area.

Dolmen of Cavada
Belief in eternity

Walking aroung the village is a great opportunity to spend time in nature, seeing the sheep grazing, feeling the smell of chamomile fields, paying attention to the little things that make the tour so unique and special.

Slow down for a moment and enjoy!

Inspiring blooming field
take your time

I can tell. You will feel inspired by landscape and energised by the sun and choosing lunch breaks in Fiais instead of the noise of a big city like I did.

And now I would love to hear all about your lunch break too, so please feel free to share!

I hope you enjoyed the tour and I promise I will be back soon with some more stories.

--

--