Is communication your Kryptonite? Turn it into your superpower!

Sometimes our perceived weaknesses are the source of our greatest strength

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
Stronger Content

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

When I think of challenging work and personal situations, many stem from a lack of communication.

May you have had someone get upset with you for being late to a lunch appointment. I know I have. In one case, that person would have been less upset had I told him I was running late. In another case, I sent a text message a few hours before but accidentally texted a landline. I assumed that sending the text was communication; that was not enough.

Communication is a two-way conversation. I failed to ensure that my friend acknowledged receiving the text message. He was pretty upset when I arrived 30 minutes late. I was confused and asked what was wrong. He shared that he did not appreciate I was late and did not tell him. I was confused. So I showed him the text message I sent. He looked at it and let me know that it was his landline. He found it comical, and his anger subsided. It could have avoided him brooding for 30 minutes had I ensured he acknowledged. (If you’re reading this, my friend, I’m so sorry.) I should have called him after realizing I had not received a response within one hour, and that still would have been plenty of notice.

--

--

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
Stronger Content

Author of Mastering AWS Serverless · AWS Community Builder · Specializing in CMMC, SOC 2, serverless & engineering.