Mixed Feelings about The Queen’s Gambit

But not mixed about the main character

R. Dennis Brady
Stronger Down the Stretch

--

Photo by GR Stocks on Unsplash

I binge-watched The Queen’s Gambit last weekend when my wife went out of town.

I have mixed feelings.

Everything about the Netflix limited series was well done, evidenced by its eleven Primetime Emmy Awards. And the reviews weren’t mixed like my feelings. Rotten Tomatoes rates The Queen’s Gambit at 96%.

But I truly disliked the main character, Beth Harmon. She had a tragic childhood. I get that and I’m not completely unsympathetic. However, many people suffer terrible circumstances and don’t swim in their misery and become horrible humans.

Her orphanage friend, Jolene, rose above her raising without the advantage of being adopted or caucasian in mid-60s southern America.

Ironically, when Beth hits bottom and doesn’t have the money to enter a chess tournament in Russia, it’s Jolene who loans her $3000. In 1967 dollars.

I wonder if Jolene got her money back? Beth borrowed her first chess tournament fee of $5 from the man who taught her the game. She promised to pay him back $10 if she won any prize money. She won the tournament but forgot all about the man.

She abused pills and alcohol, stole things, and was rude to people who admired and…

--

--