Healthy Cooking & Stretching — My “Better Aging” Journey (Part 3)

How Deep Stretching and Healthy Cooking Improved My Fitness

Sanj
Stronger Down the Stretch
5 min readJun 5, 2023

--

woman in field of daisies
https://pixabay.com/photos/woman-sunflowers-nature-field-3640935/

When you lose 25 pounds, the last thing you want someone to say is that you’re not doing enough. Am I right?

As we age, our bodies demand more attention and care to maintain optimal health and vitality. As a middle-aged woman, I am always looking for ways to improve my fitness and overall well-being. So, I scheduled a visit with my Naturopath, who informed me that despite losing 25 pounds the previous year, I wasn’t doing nearly enough to get into the best health. She wanted me to get moving. Ugh, I thought. I was hoping I could get around that.

I explored some gentle approaches to exercise. That’s when I discovered the power of deep muscle and joint stretching. Not only did it make me feel good, but it also helped me to become more flexible and toned. In addition, I found that making a few changes to my cooking habits also had a positive impact on my health. Here’s how moving more, deep stretching, and healthy cooking improved my fitness.

Deep Stretching, Rebounding, and the Lymphatic System

I began my deep stretching journey by finding a routine on YouTube called “Full Body Deep Stretch for Tight Bodies” by Sydney Cummings. I made sure to maintain proper form and was amazed by how good I felt after each session. I also started incorporating a rebounder into my exercise routine, which helped to increase my lymphatic flow. If you don’t know about the Lymphatic System, you should really learn more; I was amazed when I did. It’s like our circulatory system, with branches and nodes covering our whole body. Its job is to pick up waste products and toxins from the blood. However, unlike the heart, it has no “pump” to literally move these out of our body. It must simply flow/move on its own. It is part of the body’s detox process and affects our immunity.

Manipulate the Lymphatic System

What I recently learned is that you can manipulate the lymphatic system by gently pushing or massaging it in certain directions to aid in its movement. Yes, using lymphatic massage, you can literally aid your system in getting rid of these dangerous waste products and toxins that are many times sitting stationery in our bodies (gross)! Lymphatic massage is easy to do and can be accomplished with the use of firm fingers or your palms or a small rolling massage tool if you so desire.

There are other things involved like drinking extra water and taking Epsom salt baths, but there are lots of short informational YouTube videos if you’re interested in learning.

When I first began my lymphatic massage, after a little bit (within the first month), I noticed a very nice side effect in the mirror… the cellulite in my upper arms was dramatically reduced. I mean noticeably smoother! I had NO idea that could happen without losing weight and working out, but boy, was I pleasantly surprised. I hope you see that benefit, as well as many others, if you give it a try.

A BIG WARNING

You shouldn’t do lymphatic massage if you are chronically sick, have severe diabetes, skin or bleeding issues, or other health issues or diseases of concern. You know your health conditions better than anyone. You should ask your Naturopath or Doctor if you have any doubts.

Healthy Cooking

The FIRST and BEST thing- I EVER did for my and my family’s health several years ago was to STOP using SYNTHETIC GROCERY STORE OILS. I try to warn everyone about them. These oils are created through synthetic chemical extraction methods- sometimes even getting deodorized and bleached! Seed oils accumulate toxins in our body fat, promote inflammation, and lead to chronic disease. Decidedly avoid: corn, canola, soy, grapeseed, sunflower, safflower, cottonseed, and rice bran oils. Dr Joseph Mercola is where I first learned about this topic many years ago. Someone named Dr. Cate termed those 8 refined oils “The Hateful Eight”.

Healthier Options for Cooking Oils

I opted for healthier options like avocado oil, extra virgin olive oil, virgin coconut oil, and even butter. Understanding the butter versus margarine debate, I found compelling evidence supporting the nutritional benefits of butter over margarine. The old assumption was that margarine was heart-healthy since it was commissioned to be created as an alternative to butter which was considered bad for the heart at the time. But Dr. Ken Berry- and many others besides him- seriously disagree. Dr. Berry has great information you should check out on his YouTube channel.

Margarine was created in a chemical factory in a very unnatural way. It has only been eaten for about 100–150 years. Butter, however, has always been eaten and is full of nutrients like calcium and many vitamins. Margarine is close enough to plastic that when left outside, animals, gnats, and bacteria won’t even touch it… that says a lot and will probably be enough to change your mind into favoring butter, as well.

To enhance flavor, I turned to Pink Himalayan salt, which is claimed to contain numerous trace minerals. I also forgo breading on meat and vegetables unless I use almond or coconut flour as a healthier alternative. But I mostly avoid breading. These small changes have made a big difference in my overall health.

Making It a Lifestyle

Getting healthy is not a one-time event, it’s a lifestyle. I found ways to incorporate healthy habits into my daily routine, like going for a walk after dinner, using the stairs instead of the elevator, and taking breaks throughout the day to stretch. By taking small steps every day, I was able to make significant changes in my overall health and wellness.

Deep stretching and healthy cooking have become two essential pillars of my fitness journey. They have helped me to become more flexible, toned, and healthier. By incorporating these gentle approaches to exercise and cooking into my lifestyle, I have found a way to improve my physical and mental well-being without causing any harm. It’s never too late to start living a healthier life, and I encourage anyone who is interested to give it a try.

Midlife can be our best life!

I’ll talk about supplements and gut health in my next article. Stay tuned!

Disclaimer: The information provided on the site is for educational purposes only and does not substitute for professional medical advice. Please consult a medical professional or healthcare provider for medical advice, diagnoses, or treatment.

Thanks for reading this article. If you got value from it, would you consider following me and subscribing to receive emails when I publish?

--

--

Sanj
Stronger Down the Stretch

Devoted Jesus lover, curious mind, healthy living enthusiast, veteran homeschool mom of three. Married to Medium writer R. Dennis Brady