The Story Behind Stronger Down the Stretch

Because I’m not the only person struggling.

R. Dennis Brady
Stronger Down the Stretch
6 min readApr 23, 2023

--

Why did I start the publication Stronger Down the Stretch? Like most things for me, the decision organically slow-dripped into my mind. As my friend often says, it was a pppprocess.

Zooming and zipping to midlife

Approaching 55 years old felt like zooming down a water slide, the kind with a few bumps along the way, but you still zip to the big splash very quickly. You look back up the hill and realize, “Crap! Two-thirds of my life is over.”

I’m not complaining. My life is good. I’m blessed with a beautiful, noble, God-fearing wife of 31 years, three fantastic kids, and an honorable son-in-law I call “son.” They aren’t the problem.

I am.

Although my salvation in Jesus Christ is secure, I’ve struggled with a discontented soul that meandered to midlife. My friend, Tim, says that providing for your family is an honorable purpose, and it is, and I have, yet I’ve wanted more. But what? Years passed while I wasted time binging Netflix, eating Nutter Butters, and complaining over this question but doing nothing about it.

2020, of course

--

--