New is not always better

Why the grass is not usually greener

Christine Denker
Struggling Forward

--

“A succulent in a white ceramic pot against a blue wall” by Khai Sze Ong on Unsplash

I’m a simple gal.

I know this and yet I went away from what I know about myself for a short period of time.

I decided to try something new because I’m all about learning and expanding. I like to try new things and take risks. So I jumped into a different platform to create a website that more writers use. I primarily did it because I didn’t think my currently platform supported my new email service.

After several days of small victories, and more often than not, a fried brain with the new platform I came back to what I know. I discovered my email service supports the original platform, and it was as easy as a copy and paste to embed the new subscribe form that took me days to create with the other platform.

While I really want to delete the new website I’ve been working on, I’m going to leave it for now. While I doubt I will go back to it, I’m thankful for what I’ve learned.

“The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence,” is not usually true.

I thought because many writers use the other platform I tried out, it meant that in order for me to be successful I needed to follow suit. While it definitely has more bells and whistles, I’m discovering that it’s not what I need. I want to write, not spend endless hours in frustration to the point where I no longer feel like creating.

So I’m back to what I know. I’m back to what feels comfortable and allows me to be the most creative. And that’s not a bad thing. While it’s great to expand my mind and to challenge myself, when it detracts from my overall purpose then it’s time to take a step back and remember what’s important.

Maybe some day I will go back to the bells and whistles, but for now this serves me just fine. More than fine actually.

Rather than looking over the other side of the fence, I’m choosing to water my own grass.

Thanks for reading this piece! I’m a high school counselor by day and a writer 24/7. I write about everyday experiences with a positive twist, because that’s how I roll. If my vibe resonates with you, check out my blog Everyday Life Uncluttered and sign up for my newsletter GTI Wednesday. You can find them both here.

**This piece originally appeared on my blog, Everyday Life Uncluttered.

--

--

Christine Denker
Struggling Forward

Podcaster, Writer, Adventure Seeker, and Educator. Always pursuing my true North.