Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Productivity and Choosing what to Love

Emily
Struggling Forward
Published in
3 min readJun 11, 2018

--

I am a curious person by nature. I want to know how and why things work. I enjoy talking to people and hearing about what they do and how they do it. I like new experiences.

EVERYTHING is interesting.

This can cause me problems when it comes to balancing productivity with down time. There’s so much stuff I’d like to do!

My husband is an avid gamer. I often watch him play video games — or at least am present in the room doing my own thing while he’s playing. We’ll watch Twitch together.

Several times, he’s asked or encouraged me to play some of the games, either on my own or with him. Mostly, I say no. There are exceptions to this: Mario Odessey (which I still haven’t finished) and games we can play together like Mario Cart and currently Swords of Ditto.

He would love it if I’d join massive rpgs and play with him. I know I’d love them. I enjoy playing ones I do play. My problem is that once I get started, I find it very hard to stop. I’ll play a game until dawn. I’ll play it all weekend and then some.

Televisions shows, comic books, movies, novels, non-fiction, podcasts, hockey, and a bunch of other things, too.

There’s so much stuff out there that I’d love to do!

You know what else I love to do? Writing.

I cannot do it all.

I have to choose.

I have to pick the things I really want to do, and do those things, and let it be okay and when I can’t do anything else.

This leads me to having to do something I really don’t like doing: Saying no. I have to establish boundaries. I have to protect my time.

Participating in something with someone is a way of telling them you love them. Sharing gaming with my husband, watching hockey together, following shows together — these are ways we show we value each other, we love each other.

His understanding that sometimes I have to say no is a sign that he respects my time. There aren’t many more perfect expressions of love than that.

So if you’re looking at your life, if you’re trying to find ways to be productive, see how selective with your downtime you’re being. Choose the things you really love. The things that make you laugh and smile. The things that make you want to create.

If something doesn’t make you happy, and it isn’t required, don’t do it.

Conversely, if something does make you happy, do it! Enjoy that “silly” show. Read that “trashy” novel. Love the things you love. When you have to manage your time, don’t ever waste it on (not really) fun things you’re supposed to do.

Down time is as important as work time for productivity.

Choose your loves. The things that make you laugh and smile. Wisely.

--

--