Single Dad Learning

Thom Burton
Struggling Forward
Published in
2 min readJul 29, 2018
Picture of a poster at the local Centacare office, taken by me.

So I have this concept that I have been thinking about this past week.

I am not sure if it is a good one, or something that could become good, or even if it will make me any money. It is an idea that I do like however, and if I do decide to act on it and then put in the consistent effort to work on the idea it could become all of those things.

Basically, I have been thinking of creating a YouTube VLog/channel thingy [yes highly technical jargon here] where I talk about my experiences as a single dad with both my full time son and shared children.

Literally as the title of this post suggests, the stuff that this Single Dad is Learning in order to help raise these kids into decent human beings.

At this stage I don’t really plan on being too researchy [another technical term] or technical, just rather use it as a reflective tool that may possibly help other dads realise that there are guys who are making the same dumb-ass mistakes, coming up with unique solutions to various problems, or just to know we are not alone.

Of course I may explore things that I have learned from parenting courses and support groups and the like. After all they are also things that I have learned about.

In a way that is what my recent blog posts on Medium have been about. Self-reflective thinking about what I have experienced at what I have learned from those experiences.

Maybe this way I can express these things that I am going through via YouTube and then I may be able to explore different topics in my writing here.

--

--