Photo by Yaoqi LAI on Unsplash

Will anybody miss me?

Tim Rettig
Struggling Forward
Published in
1 min readJul 14, 2018

--

If I quit today…

… will anybody notice?

… will anybody care?

… will anybody be sad?

… will anybody miss me?

If I quit today…

… will somebody get in trouble?

… will I leave a hole behind in somebody’s life?

… will it cause a debate?

… will somebody be lost for a little while?

I don’t know the answers to any of those questions. But one thing is for sure — the answer to these questions tells me a lot about whether or not I am doing the right thing with my work or not.

Do I have a real impact on people’s lives?

That is the only metric that should really matter. The only metric that tells me whether or not what I am doing is meaningful.

If I quit publishing today, would you miss me?

--

--

Tim Rettig
Struggling Forward

Author of Struggling Forward: Embrace the Struggle. Achieve Your Dreams https://amzn.to/2JKYFso / Subscribe: http://bit.ly/2DCejTX / Email: rettigtim@gmail.com