Cahuita to Puerto Viejo, with a side of KiloWatts

Jules @ Stubborn Travel
Stubborn Travel
Published in
7 min readMar 15, 2022

--

Our Costa Rica trip continues from Tortuguero to Cahuita to Puerto Viejo, and on to Sixaola for the Panama border

Inviting hammocks in Puerto Viejo. Dec 2, 2021. Credit: Stubborn Travel

Cahuita, with its Lonely Planet promises of a more untouched, laid-back, Caribbean vibe, disappointing us (us being my sister Flavia and I). Admittedly, this could have been the constant thunderstorms and dodgy hotel talking.

Showers in the morning certainly jolted us awake, not because there was no hot water (which is quite normal in basic accommodation), but because a literal jolt of electricity trickled down every time we turned on the shower. I think this was due to exposed wiring being so close to the shower head.

I wanted to ask someone about it, but the reception was always empty, and something told me that this was not uncommon. So I filed it away as One Of Those Things and was glad to walk away in one piece, only mildly electrocuted.

Dodgy wiring lead to a showerhead in a dark bathroom.
Electrical wires meet showerhead for an electrifying shower in Cahuita. Dec 1, 2021. Credit: Stubborn Travel

Months later, in the Galapagos, I would meet this type of shower again.

The main highlight of Cahuita was seeing a sloth rather close up climbing along a telephone line during a post-dinner stroll. This joy was only temporary however, as…

--

--

Jules @ Stubborn Travel
Stubborn Travel

Freelance copywriter based in London. I’m fascinated by travel, language, and philosophy. I value health and sustainability.