College as a Safe Haven: A Student from Northwestern University

Amanda Wahlstedt
Student Voice
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2018

Sophia Harmony Kaiser is a sophomore at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois where she studies psychology and legal studies. Below is the transcription of a recent interview I had with Sophia about college being her safe haven.

What was your transition to college like?

Rough. I didn’t feel financially nor academically prepared, so my first year presented many challenges that got the best of me.

What was your motivation for going to college?

I want to make something of myself and challenge the limits of my abilities. As soon as I knew I had scholarship potential I pursued more prestigious college options.

What is one challenge or obstacle you’ve overcome?

Socially, I felt very isolated. While some of this was my own doing, I realized it wasn’t helping me adapt to the new environment and it contributed to my growing feelings of “imposter syndrome”. I worked on social confidence and, by the end of the year, I was satisfied with my place on campus and could make friends far more easily.

What person or resource was most helpful to you in making the transition?

My work friends! Since I spent more time at work than I did in class, even, they were my first friends. Since many of them were older than me and some had similar struggles, they provided a lot of mentorship and guidance for financial and academic issues. I turn to them for advice first.

In what ways did college provide a safe haven for you?

College took me far, far away from stresses back home. I desperately needed some distance to feel in control of my future and my life.

What would you tell a recent high school graduate about successfully making the transition to college?

Make friends who are older than you, and join communities for low-income and first-generation students if those struggles apply to you. A healthy social life and friends who know your difficulties will help you feel more at home and can provide the best guidance for your situation.

Sophia’s interview is the first in a series conducted by me, Student Voice’s Chief Storyteller, in hopes of motivating & aiding young people to pursue postsecondary education & training. Know a student I should interview? Email me! Want to learn more about access & affordability? Read the Student Bill of Rights.

--

--