College as a Safe Haven: A Student from the University of Pennsylvania

Amanda Wahlstedt
Student Voice
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2018

For this installment in College as a Safe Haven, I spoke with a rising sophomore at the University of Pennsylvania who chose to be anonymous. Don’t miss their honest advice and self-evaluation!

What was your transition to college like?

My transition to college was pretty challenging. There were a lot of things I had trouble with. Academically, I looked at college the same way I approached high school. I’d been pretty successful in the summer bridge programs I’d been in, so I wasn’t hit with the jarring realization that I needed to change right away. I procrastinated a lot and because of that I didn’t do that well my first semester. Second semester wasn’t that much better even though I cared more. I couldn’t find motivation no matter how hard I tried. A lot of my academic problems had to do with my social transition, though. I had a hard time dealing with people, and I had a lot of baggage that I carried with me. I hate that it happened, but I feel like it was unavoidable and I’m looking forward to continuing my time at Penn.

What was your motivation for going to college?

My parents made sure to instill a belief that college was the gateway to success. I’ve always been relatively ambitious, and even if I don’t end up pursuing law, my aspirations and love for learning in general made college a necessity and not an option.

What is one challenge/obstacle you’ve overcome?

I’ve come to realize that sometimes you have to do things for you. Finding things that make you happy and focusing on your own goals are ways to keep you focused.

What person or resource was most helpful to you in making the transition?

I actually didn’t seek out any resources. I guess I’d have to say myself. I learned to deal with things I hadn’t encountered before, and because of that I think I’m stronger as a person.

In what ways did college provide a safe haven for you?

My parents always had a strong grip on me, and they continue to be influential, especially when I go home. I’ve never talked to them about how I feel and I doubt I ever will, but how they raised me kept me from seeing the bad and good of the world, and I think that played a significant part in holding me back. College let me grow as a person, and I’m glad.

What would you tell a recent a high school graduate about successfully making the transition to college?

Don’t be afraid to fail, because it happens to a lot of us. We don’t all have the privilege of graduating from a top high school that adequately prepares us for college, and nor do we all succeed right away regardless of our background. Whoever you are and where ever you came from, you have the ability to accomplish your goals.

This interview is the last in a series conducted by me, Student Voice’s Chief Storyteller, in hopes of motivating & aiding young people to pursue postsecondary education & training. Know a student I should interview next? Email me! Want to learn more about access & affordability? Read the Student Bill of Rights.

--

--