A Day in The Life of a College Student

Erika Soderstrom
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readNov 21, 2016

College is a time for growth, development and stress. It’s a time to explore new worlds, challenge yourself and stress. Yes, college is an opportunity to change, learn and stress. But all joking aside college provides great opportunity for change and development as well as sleep deprivation and anxiety and stress.

As we approach week nine in our eleven week term life starts getting rough. You become completely unaware of which way is up and which way is down, if it’s 6 a.m. or 6 p.m. and if you have an assignment you’re forgetting to do or a meeting you’re thirty minutes late to.

Things have gotten so overwhelming this past week I literally forgot to go to class. It might have caused by the overwhelming and always present stress I’ve had the wonderful opportunity of experiencing this term.

No I didn’t skip class or blow it off, which honestly would have made me feel better. No, I literally forgot when my class started. When I started to make my way to class after lunch I realized it was 1:30 p.m. instead of 12:30 p.m., the class is an hour long. How I love stress.

Now a week later I’m still very much unsure of how I made that mistake, but there’s absolutely no doubt in my mind I’ll make it again.

But despite all the intense course work and overall weight of the term it’s important to remember when it’s all said and done we’ll be walking out of here with a piece of paper, a huge pile of debt and most likely a lot of stress.

A piece of paper that is basically the equivalent of high school diploma and debt so large we might as well try and buy a small country. But never fear with that piece of paper and rather large pile of debt we’ll for sure, finally, have an endless supply of stress as we venture into the “real world.”

That’s all I have for today folks, thank you and have a good night.

--

--