Class of ’17

Steph Compton
Student Voices
3 min readJul 10, 2017

--

So graduation is this week. Weird. It’s one of those things that seems so far off for so long, and now it’s right around the corner and I can’t quite believe it. Me, a graduate. Sounds way more sophisticated than I actually am.

I remember when I was little seeing a photo of one of my relatives in her cap and gown, diploma in hand, and thinking that it was some huge achievement that I’d be lucky to do myself. Sort of like, “that’s cool, but it probably won’t happen to me”.

Maybe that’s why I’m so amazed, because I’ve made it this far. I mean, no disrespect to myself, but I do occasionally do stupid things. In fact, I’m known for it. Am I that daft bird who forgets where she parked her car? Erm, yeah. Who’s the one who falls over on a night out, before the alcohol is flowing mind you? Totally me. I just don’t know how to be cool. I saw my graduation photos earlier (the ones that I had taken early in case I have an inevitable bad hair day on the day) and I won’t lie to you, I look like a bit of a serial killer. Brilliant. Just what I want on my parents’ wall for the next few decades. You wouldn’t believe how nervous I am about walking across the stage in the ceremony. If anyone’s going to screw it up and become a YouTube sensation, it’s me. Oh well, quirky is the new sexy; or it is in my book.

Still, it’s sort of a bittersweet week. Went into university for the last time tonight. Look, I know I’ve said that a thousand times already but this time I’m determined to stick to it. Must not go back. Must not go back. Be strong Steph, you got this.

Graduation is Friday and I’m excited, although I’m sure it won’t be like it is in all the films; the perfect day with perfect photos. I’ll be lucky if I throw my cap in the air and it doesn’t smack me on the head on the way back down. Looking forward to it though, really!

I think it’s fairly standard during times like this to feel pensive about your life so far. Childhood was so naïve and I miss that. I was driving home tonight thinking about how when I was a kid, I thought every set of traffic lights was controlled by a person in a little room, pressing a button for red and a button for green, totally at random. Ah, life was simple then.

A little part of me always wondered whether I was cut out for university and I questioned whether I’d even make it to the finish line, but I did. Gold star for me. Most of my friends still have one or two years left and to start with, I envied them for that. But now I think I’ve pretty much done the whole ‘uni’ thing, done it to death in fact, and I’m ready to try something new. Just need to get through graduation with an air of sophistication and decorum, I can do that… I think.

As I sat tonight watching ice cream melt into a plastic tray (long story), staring into the melting ripples, I thought how happy I was with all the decisions I’ve made up to that point. I done good.

Perhaps the next time I write I’ll be a ‘grad’, and maybe I’ll write about more adult-ish things, like dinner dates, mortgages and electricity bills. That’s basically adult life summed up, right?

Onwards? Definitely. Upwards? Hopefully.

--

--