Class of 2015: 5 Big Lessons

Jasmine Chan
3 min readJan 25, 2016

--

Throwback to uWaterloo oweek 2K13!

So, I’m done school?

Hello hello! I’m Jasmine. 22 year old. I graduated from the University of Waterloo last year with a BA in Speech Communication and Business. I entered the “real world” a few months ago and I’m currently working at a Social Media, Digital Marketing, and Communications agency. I also volunteer on the side to help organize tech events in Toronto!

It’s been a wild ride in the last four years and I still can’t believe it’s over. I’ve learned a lot while in school and here’s a list of 5 lessons I’ve learned.

1. It’s OK To Fail

I thought I had my life all figured out when I was entering university — I’m going to study Economics. I’m going to get into the coop program. I’m going to find bank jobs. I’m going to graduate,make money, and work my way up the corporate ladder.

Turns out I didn’t like economics. My marks weren’t competitive enough for the coop program. I saw my friends getting internship offers and making money while I was stuck in school. I thought I wasted a whole year in school and achieved nothing as planned. I was not happy.

It took me more than a year to accept myself, accept the fact it’s OK to fail. I ended up switching my major twice before finishing my degree as a Speech Communication student. I love Speech Communication — the courses, the professors I had, and the students within the SPCOM community. Everything turned out for the better!

2. Don’t Take Your Health For Granted

For years, I would never make the extra effort to take care of my body. I always thought going to the gym was a big waste of time and money. I gained a lot of weight in first year (freshman 15 ayy) and proceed to lose a lot of it the year after. I went through meal replacement shakes for a week once because I was so stressed that my body rejected solid food… that was not a good time.

I made a decision to start eating better and going to the gym; it helped me feel better both physically and mentally.

Your health is precious; respect it and take good care it.

My roommates and I ate this much pizza and popeyes in 4 months. 10/10 would do it again.

3. Try Things That Scare The Sh** Out Of You

As a non-STEM major student in a STEM-focused institute but was interested in STEM-related activities, I was always scared what people will say when I tell them I’m a Speech Communication student. Attending BOT team meetings is not easy when none of my friends were interested in hybrid vehicles or triple-cube satellites.

“What we fear doing most is usually what we most need to do.” — Tim Ferriss

While I’m still not 100% sure how ADCS of triple-cube satellites work, It was a cool experience watching a team come together to design and build a satellite that was going to be sent up to space. At some point, I’ve stopped letting my Arts background become a personal excuse for not try something new. The unknown is scary, but it can also be exciting if we give it a chance.

4. Don’t Feel Guilty For Having Fun

Your university experience is what you make of it. Go out, have fun, and don’t feel guilty for doing it. I used to feel horrible for going out. I convinced myself going out was a big waste of time and I should be using the time to study. For the longest time, my university experience was crappy. Everything felt like a routine and I hated it: Eat. Sleep. Study. Repeat. I knew it was my fault and I had to do something about it.

My best and favourite memories in school include YOLO late-night bubble tea and poutine adventures with my friends. Looking back, maybe I should’ve gone out more. Nobody looks back and remembers the nights they had plenty of studying done; let’s be honest about that.

5. Call Your Parents

Seriously. They miss you.

--

--

Jasmine Chan

Social Media & Digital Marketing. I do cool things with Product Hunt Toronto. uWaterloo grad.