Lessons From a Former Undergrad.

Julian Gross
3 min readJan 26, 2016

--

Congratulations! you’ve been accepted into college.

Now What?

At least half the students entering college have some idea of what they want to do as a career choice.

The other half are going because of the earning potential or parental pressure (or going just to go, I wont point fingers).

I attended college to open doors for myself, and increase my knowledge.

Anyway…

Whatever the reason for attending college make sure you develop a PLAN of action. The first day of class I met with my advisor to discuss what courses I should take throughout my 4 year career. I also asked about different organizations/clubs around campus that I should join to supplement my major.

I was proactive because I’ve heard horror stories about students who were short credits at the end of the 4-year stretch all because they didn’t monitor their progress.

That wouldn’t be me.

Time is such a precious thing in college…

Many students are juggling jobs, internships, class, all while trying to make time to actually study, eat (yes I said eat), sleep and have fun.

Tip: Invest in a calender and write out your schedule to stay on top of everything. If you’re on the go set reminders on your smartphone. I found myself setting reminders for impromptu meetings and things that weren’t routine. It Worked!

Also…

Prioritize, understand there will be tons of opportunities to party during college, so put your studies and even SLEEP first.

Story Time:

I graduated top of my class in high school (3.8), had tons of friends, a great social life and I got sleep. For some reason that wasn’t the case in college. I got to college and got a bit too comfortable. I studied out of state, so maybe the lack of parental supervision caused my Ke$ha lifestyle (minus the glitter), but I had too much fun freshman year “networking,” going to on and off campus parties, and sleeping when I should have went to class.

My first semester of college I EARNED a 2.10 GPA. Believe me when I tell you this was a humbling moment. I’d never seen a 2 point GPA ever. Because of that one f**ked up semester I spent the other semesters making up for it, and even retook a course I did poorly on to boost my GPA.

Ultimately, I graduated undergrad (Temple University) with a nice GPA and got into my grad school of choice (Georgetown University), so things worked in my favor. Thank God.

Understand…

A college education is NOT cheap. You are paying for a quality education so use the school for ALL of its resources. If you need help with anything, your school has a writing center to help with writing improvement, and tutors in various other subjects. USE THEM!

Even the gym, USE IT! I know I should have — the freshman 15, 20, okay 40 is no joke (eat in moderation people). But enough about me…

Get your moneys worth and go to class, Just saying.

--

--

Julian Gross

Pseudo-Influencer of some sort | YouTuber 💻 | @TempleUniv🦉| @Georgetown🐶