Cutting corners.

Cristian Popa
2 min readFeb 1, 2016

Alright so I finally have some incentive to use this thing, I had my first Organisational Behaviour class today in my 2nd semester of uni and the lecturer said it would be beneficial if we kept an idea diary which filed all of our ideas about this particular module. That made me think of Medium instantly.

I’ll let Medium be my online memorandum, a journal of sorts.

During the first lecture, we talked about the types of people and which ones are more likely to succeed or not. The 3 types we got were, stupid yet hardworking, clever yet lazy, and clever and hard working.

This makes a lot of sense if you think about it and even if sometimes I like to follow this as an excuse, the lecturer said that the clever yet lazy people are the ones that become the great leaders, the CEOs, the inspirations.

The people that are clever and hardworking become the administrators, the people that tidy up the place after the decision has been made, and the stupid yet hardworking people don’t get far.

The reason behind that is pretty simple, and Bill Gates said it best: “I choose a lazy person to do a hard job. Because a lazy person will find an easy way to do it.”

Which makes me think, is it worth cutting corners? Is it worth getting things done quick?

Anyways, I’ll make this a short read. That was a pretty insightful perspective on a person’s attitude, and right now I’m not sure where I fit. But I guess that’s why I’m here, to find out.

--

--

Cristian Popa

I work in Marketing and Data Protection, also a do a little podcast on the side. www.anchor.fm/rpromania