“F” The Kitchen

For now…

DHBogucki
Student Voices
2 min readJun 4, 2016

--

I would much rather fritter away some time here on Medium. Stumbling into new concepts, reading, and learning are pleasurable and call me away from the spray bottle. The kitchen has been moldering lately. Life has picked up a head of steam and keeps passing me by. I run, and run, and things pile up. In the last couple weeks I was desperately searching for a “new to me” car. I have one I fixed up. It’s good to go, but it is not useful enough.

There are two kinds of vehicles I enjoy. Sporty, tiny, ragtop, five speed and preferably from the UK, or possibly Italy. Or, large, lumbering, utilitarian with terrible pick-up. I have to get the utilitarian right now. When there is even less hair than now I can have fun in the head turner. If we are still using gasoline by then.

Last week I started the process of acquiring a 1984 Vanagon. Not a camper. No, thank-you. Water issues. I say process because when your state privatizes government offices you get this fucked up mess we have in North Carolina. Imagine going to a license branch for almost everything, and then you wait for whatever you were there for to come in the mail. Right around two to three weeks later. Unless you live in one of the major cities, and I think maybe Raleigh is the only one, you wait for your drivers license, TO COME IN THE MAIL! So, too will you wait for a car title. There is little you can do to expedite anything because the employees at the branches do not work for the state, they work for a private company so they don’t have any authority to help you. Not only do license branches have a bad wrap for being bastions of red tape, here in NC there is an even more innovative level of red tape. No pesky *cough union* government employees.

In Ohio, where I lived previously, there were license branches open on *gasp* Saturday! Not here. Nope. Private corporations could give a fuck about your shitty schedule. I yearn for the days of the grizzled old ladies waiting for you behind the counter at the DMV/BMV. However they got their cushy, pensioned, desk job doesn’t matter anymore, what matters is how ridiculous it is to privatize license bureaus!

Thank you. Now I am ready to clean the kitchen.

--

--

DHBogucki
Student Voices

Artist, Writer, Tattooist, Find me on Instagram, UnSplash, and FB under that same name.