Or Segal
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readMar 2, 2016

--

Photo Credit: Bob Miller

Leaving the Traditional Path

Everyone has their own path in mind. Like most people around me, my path led to university. Two years ago, I studied Physics and Biology at Tel Aviv University and really enjoyed it. I met wonderful people, worked hard and lived in my favorite city in the world. Still, I always had the feeling that maybe this traditional path was not the best route for me.

With that in mind, the first time I read about Minerva, it made perfect sense to me. Those things that Minerva seeks to change in higher education are the same things that I felt suited my aspirations and goals. Instead of massive lectures with 300 students, I could engage with small discussion groups, forging personal connections with my professors. Instead of memorizing all the material a week before the test, I could learn practical skills and hone them throughout all four years of study. Instead of living in one city, I could explore life in seven cities around the world, allowing me to gain a deep sense of each local culture. Instead of connecting with only people from my area, I could study with people from across the globe and have an incredible network of connections after graduation.

The decision to leave the traditional path was difficult for me. Moving so far away from the people and places I love, while constantly being challenged, was not comfortable. But I knew that those people and places would still be there for me when I graduated. I also knew this new path was one I believed in.

Coming to Minerva was a risk because of its many unknowns. Would I find classmates I could relate to? Would I enjoy the completely new approach to learning? Would it work for me? Would the bold promise of a better university experience be fulfilled?

Today, I can say that taking the risk is paying off. I have met amazing classmates; I do enjoy and benefit from this new educational model; and I am finding that what Minerva is building is something I am extremely excited to take part in.

Today, I can say that taking this risk will play a major role in defining who I am.

Interested in this new model of higher education? Rolling Decision deadline is March 15, 2016, so I encourage you to get started today.

--

--