Lucky first day in Amsterdam

ONCAMPUS Amsterdam
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readNov 21, 2016

by Bryan Eduardo Vinueza Perez

Before I arrived in Amsterdam, I had already found a host via Couchsurfing. The address was Diemen-Rode Kruislaan 12345. I had already looked for it on Google Maps and stored it on my laptop back in Ecuador so that I had a vague idea of where it was. In addition to this, my host had given me a description of how to find the house.

It was 18:30 when I landed in Amsterdam and all was well; I bought a train ticket from Schiphol Airport to Diemen. I had been told that I needed to change trains for Diemen so as soon as I was on the train, I asked two people when I needed to get off and transfer. I usually ask at least two people just in case, because some people like to help even when they do not know the way. When I showed them the address, they were confused. They said that the postal code was wrong too, and that it was for the south of the city. As a result, I got off at the next station to check the information, which was in fact correct.

Usually, I am happy getting lost in a new city, as this is the best way to get to know it. However, this was not the case for Amsterdam. In a small wave of panic, I thought to myself: Oh no! I am lost in Amsterdam, without food, a SIM card to call my host, internet, or someone to tell me where I am. I do not speak or read any Dutch, and now my laptop is dead (I had been using it on the plane). And to make matters worse, I have to walk with my two suitcases. At that moment, I remember thinking: What should I do now? I decided to ask everyone I could, and did so for two hours.

Finally, I found someone who did know the Rode Kruislaan in Diemen. He was making almost exactly the same journey and kindly pointed me in right direction after explaining that the postal code was in fact the apartment number! After a longer and more eventful journey than anticipated, I finally arrived at my destination just before midnight.

PS. If you are planning a trip, do consider using Couchsurfing!

This story is written by the ONCAMPUS student journalists.

Do you remember your first day in Amsterdam?

--

--