Make an impact <Career Search>

Eric Boye
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2016

This past fall I became a full-time student again. While the classroom has been rewarding, a majority of my time has been spent exploring my career options — applying to summer internships and networking with people in the industries I find most interesting. Over these coffee chats and phone calls, I have absorbed a lot of advice and have heard many different perspectives. Through all of these conversations, two things have stood out to me the most:

1. What is the next move?

It is important to think long-term on your career search. Even if you intend to stay with the same company for an extended period of time, you will likely not have the same role even after a few years on the job. Ask what people have gone on to do, and is it at the same company or a different one? What skill set do you want to gain from this internship or full-time job that will help you get to your end goal?

2. Find the best company where you can make the biggest impact

Just a few weeks ago I had a brainstorm call with an alumnus from my university who works in the field I plan to pursue, and he advised:

First, make the list of the best companies to work for now. Start with lists like Interbrand’s Top 100 brands, but don’t stop there. Overlay that with the companies or internship opportunities where you can make a true impact. Just because the company may be the most popular right now, it doesn’t mean you’ll be able to make a big impact at that company.

He recognizes that the name brand of company could help or hurt your personal brand. You may get eliminated from an interview process if you’re coming from a failing company, and you may be helped by the success of a growing company. But while having a reputable company on your resume may help you get pulled in for a future interview, you need to be able to deliver on your experience and succeed at the job you’ll interview for next.

Each decision you make in your career will impact the opportunities that are available to you in five, ten, twenty years down the road.

These are two points that have stood out to me the most as I pursue my internship and post-graduate job. Have you experienced the same? What other factors or questions have been big decision criteria when you make a professional change?

--

--