Making Space for Student Voice

Students are making strides in South Carolina

Merrit Jones
3 min readJan 30, 2016

What is student voice?

Students and adults alike are often confused by the concept of student or youth voice. It’s not surprising. I too was once baffled. The first time I heard these words together, in my whole educational career was less than a year ago. I was empowered at NYLC’s National Youth Leadership training. In 17 years I had never once considered that I might have the power to change the way school worked. (Check out that realization) Once I knew that I had a voice, I had a mission: other students had to be empowered too. Student voice is young people speaking up. It takes so many forms and can be expressed in virtually any medium. Its telling a teacher the way you learn best, expressing an concern to administration, protesting an injustice, generating ideas and presenting them to a board, taking photos and having them published or even proposing legislation to your state education committee and so many other ways too.

What can adults do?

LISTEN! First and foremost listen. Student’s biggest apprehension in speaking up is the fear they won’t be heard. Adults can dissolve this fear by actually listening. I can promise you will be surprised when you do. Second, ask questions. Involve students in conversation, bring a student to planning or invite them to a faculty meeting. Students are passionate, honest and do amazing things when given the chance. The energy that student voice brings to the classroom, administration, business, or policy-making is unmatched. Students are vital to ensuring policy and ideas will be successfully implemented into classroom.

From a recent vist to the State House.

Whats going on in South Carolina?

This year I was charged with completing a year-long service-learning project to address education inequity in my community. As I began the investigation portion, I had dozens of conversations with teachers, administrators, legislators, state officials and even the former US Secretary of Education. Through all of these conversations I quickly realized how neglected students really were. A whole industry and complex system had been built around educating young people yet none had been asked what they thought might improve the system built for them. Students didn’t get a seat at the table. From that realization, I created Student Space. StuSpace exists to amplify student voice from the classroom to the highest state levels. We’re building a team of students who are passionate about taking charge of their education and challenging the status quo. If you or someone you know would like to join us reach out via any of the ways below. StuSpace is planning a film screening, a Student Voice tour stop, and a Student Lobby Day and its only just the beginning. The student movement is live in South Carolina.

Join the movement & stay up to date:

stuspace.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Student-Space-938276422908236/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/StuSpace

If you’re passionate about transforming education or intrested in how you can support Student Space you can find me @MerritJones on twitter or email me at merrit@stuspace.org

--

--

Merrit Jones

education advocate | @stu_voice Dir. of Partnerships| founder of @StuSpace | http://stuspace.org