Memoriam to the Mind

Stefon Napier
Student Voices
Published in
1 min readJul 20, 2017

I’m looking at myself right now,

in terms of everything that I have left to carry.

I’m looking into mirrors right now,

that reflect a life drifting slowly to a cemetery.

They say the end always brings the gift of a beginning

But for me it is just the replay of a small life in the same old town.

The good things are breaking apart, there’s a darkness growing in the

heart and the mind was never a sanctuary.

Life is kind of odd right now,

my own laughter is always tempted to miscarry.

There’s something about the weight now that’s bringing me

down that I don’t even cry out for you to come down, to

rescue me now from the middle of this doubt because even

though I’ve tossed away my own crown these thoughts still

just seem so heavy.

--

--

Stefon Napier
Student Voices

Stefon Napier is a unknown poet specializing in short prose form. He occasionally writes about American Christianity and is a growing follower of Jesus.