Missing in Action

Volunteering Jen
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2016

If you’ve come this far to read this post, thank you very much for hanging in there! I appreciate your readership and patience.

It’s been quite some time since I’ve actually written an article in my blog about volunteering. As the saying goes: “Life caught up with me…”

Come late fall, early winter, it’s typical to have back country or night hikes on the schedule nearly every weekend. At the end of 2015 and early 2016, not a single one has been written down!

To make the long story short, I was supposed to be moving to Texas (from Missouri) for a job and I was also finishing up a grad school class — complete with a term paper comparing two authors and their books. Needless to say I was a bit swamped. To add a monkey wrench to the mix, I also ended up getting another interview, locally, which went swimmingly. I was offered the job and accepted.

Since I didn’t have to move after all, I can continue volunteering for the Conservation department. But now I’m between a rock and a hard place. I have a new job that appears to require a decent amount of overtime. I’m also paying for grad school out of pocket. Volunteering in 2015 was severely cut, and it looks like 2016 will be even more lean. *sigh* Work and school will come first….

I will keep you posted on my future volunteering endeavors as well as any developments in how I juggle work-life balance,schoolwork, trying to lose weight, and other items on my TO DO list for the year.

In the meantime, I have had several years of volunteering escapades to discuss and will tap into that history.

Again, thank you for your readership and have a great 2016!

Truly yours,

(occasionally) Volunteering Jen

--

--

Volunteering Jen
Student Voices

Conservation Department Volunteer Photographer/Naturalist