New era of exercising

Adrianla
3 min readMay 2, 2016

Every day we are moving more and more away from an “analog” world into a digital world. The reason I say that is because between the demands of work, school and family life, getting exercise can often slide near the bottom of our to-do list.

I recently saw a commercial about exercising at home (taking “spinning” classes on an exercise bike)where you don’t have to actually go to the class at a gym but you can still get the motivational experience (and the exercise) as if you were physically there. Also, you don’t have to go to crowded classes where sometimes your schedule doesn’t fit with the class. How awesome is it that I can exercise anytime in the convenience of my own home, on my schedule, and still be part of an actual class where I get all the motivation of being there with my instructor and classmates without having to leave home.

The company is called Peloton. The only catch is that you have to purchase their stationary exercise bike with their built-in tablet that allows users to live-stream hours of exercise classes, access more than 4000 on-demand videos, and connect with audiences using a video camera and other functions. Not only are they bringing the content to us at our home, but also the Peloton community as well. There are other people on Peloton bikes around the world that I can see, interact with, and also I can benchmark my progress against them. The content cost is a digital subscription model where you pay $39 monthly. It’s not a terrible price; we would usually spend more if we joined an exercise bike spinning class like Equinox.

I think it makes sense because we’re constantly thinking of our audience as perfect, flawless athletes and Peloton‘s intention is to communicate to audiences around the world that they don’t have to be extreme athletes, just normal people trying to do something for self-improvement and physical fitness. The goal for Peloton is creating content that resonates with audiences to be more approachable and authentic.

I can say proudly that I purchased this bike without the expensive hanger at my home like most of the people around me with actual bikes would say! Lol! I absolutely love it because first of all I love taking spinning class and my mind is made up that I can do class at home and I don’t have to rush anywhere from work or from school to make it to a gym on someone else’s schedule.

Where we are heading in this world is that in the next few years we will not have to go out of our houses for much of anything, we can do everything from home, we will have a fridge that will keep track of what food we have and will order it for us when we run out! So we won’t have to worry about anything. Sounds almost like a perfect world, doesn’t it?

--

--