New Journey

Ahkeem Lang
Student Voices
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2018

I began my journey in web development near the end of 2013. It was my father who introduced me to it one cold winter break… I was at home, already back from school watching a movie or reading a article on my computer. Then one early evening my father calls me over to the kitchen. He wanted to introduce me to a field called web development, at the time I wasn’t sure what exactly web development was. So he gave me online learning tools like SkillCrush and TeamTreeHouse to source through to find a spark of interest. Soon enough a spark of curiosity formed and as the years passed a small flame kindled.

I taught myself various front end technologies, like HTML, CSS and JavaScript. I learned about efficient principles and concepts on creating a website, like the mobile first approach, effective properties within CSS, how to make a website interactive with JavaScript and a version control system called Github.

This hunger to learn more turnt to passion very quickly. When I had a moment while being a undergrad student I would watch a handful of videos from TeamTreeHouse on either frontend technologies. I even ventured off to other languages like Java, C#, Ruby and more. I transfer the hunger to learn more in many different activities, or domains I found myself participating in. This soon became my fuel. What I learned from coding, fueled my curiosity in many different aspects of my life. Like my Major in Philosophy, my career as a hip hop dancer, in friendships and much more. It’s still my fuel today and my passion. Yesterday I jumped in the out lake with friends to start the new year off right. This Passion helped me to practice to overcome fear and to take more risk in life. To try new things, like foods and experiences. This skill quickly transfer over and saturated my entire self. I even began a new hobby in bouldering.

Five Days after graduting with my philosophy degree. I moved to Austin Texas to attend a code academy I admitted to. I then joined the 2016 Summer cohort at the Iron Yard as a Backend Engineering student. I decided to attend the Backend school instead of the Frontend school at the time was because I wanted to take a risk. I knew almost nothing about backend technologies but I was eager to become knowledgeable on the matter.

After my time at the Iron Yard I would apply and Apply to Backend positions only understanding two very important realizations… I enjoyed Frontend technologies more and the Backend developer positions here in Austin were all mid to senior level. A year has passed and I worked two different contract positions at Apple and worked at a cafe and other unrelated jobs that would support my dreams of becoming a Front End Developer. But I persisted. I went to meetups, spent hours after working honing my craft, applied to positions that I felt qualified for and under qualified alike. I got a ton of rejections but more no responses. I even had people I networked with give up on me. But I held on to my dream to become a Front End Developer. The dream becoming reality always felt close, so I kept on pursing.

Twelve months then passed. I had my lows but giving up wasn’t an option for me. Then near the end of the 13 month . I applied to a company called Eduphoria, went through some interviews and soon after my dreams turned into reality. I became a Front End Developer! I joined a new loving, and supporting family of individuals who are passionate in what they do and for who they do it for as much as I am. I know work a lot with React, ES6 techniques, Flexbox layouts, soon to be CSS Grid and more!

My new journey as a Front End Developer started two months ago… If my audience doesn’t mind I would like to share with you of my experiences as a Front End Developer here on out. Thank you!

The bedrock of this story is to never give up, persevere, hard work and skills transfer over, listen and perceive very carefully to what your mind manifests. Because what you think and attract becomes your reality!

--

--