Release Me… I want to laugh and be made whole

Isaac Arsenault
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readNov 19, 2016
“release me from the sin i chose, i want to laugh and be made whole”
Super Late Night Studio Session circa 3am mid winter 2016

Not too long ago, I met Taylor Phipps. He’s an amazing musician, fellow creative, and a wonderful brother in Christ. He released his first major Single, “Your Love” about a year ago. I personally loved the sound of the track and more so the lyrical content behind it. Being the remixer I am, I asked him for the acapella. He hooked me up with it soon after he released the song, We talked about a remix for a while, but I never finished a solid version, I made a 90s dance version, Tropical house version, and an experimental trip hop version. They still sit on my laptop unfinished.

My first year at Moody was pretty tough, I didn’t know why. I fell into a pit of darkness and doubt and depression. It was nothing like I had experienced in the past. Taylor’s song helped me through a lot of that time.

Over the past summer, I was diagnosed with ADHD and Depression. It was bittersweet, I now know why I did so bad my first year… …but now, I know. During that time I was working on one of the many remixes of Your Love and my new EP. I kept chopping up Taylor’s vocal, and it rang truer than ever to me.

There was a specific line that would always bring me to tears, it was in the second verse,

“Release me from the sin I chose, I want to laugh and be made whole” — Taylor Phipps (Your Love)

This past semester has been pretty hard on my psyche. I still struggle with depression, the side effects of ADHD and the meds, The pressure of school, past baggage, social pressure, the bizarre turmoil of our country, self identity, holding on to idols, etc etc…

I want to laugh and be made whole

Working with Taylor this past year has been super encouraging…

“Your love, I gave it up for my own soul.

I can do this on my own or so I thought and I was wrong

To taste the forbidden apple

But now I see what’s so special”

--

--