Stroopwafles!

ONCAMPUS Amsterdam
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readNov 17, 2016

by Ruikun Zhu

The moment the plane began to glide down through the clouds, I knew I had arrived in the Netherlands. I carried two large suitcases by myself, and had to transfer three times on the subway. Then I realized: I got lost in the city.

It had become dark when I finally arrived at The Student Hotel. After having travelled for such a long time, loneliness and fear overwhelmed me. I really missed my family, especially my mom.

When I entered, a sweet receptionist greeted me, and gave me a piece of biscuit. It was really sweet and it got rid of all the lonely and helpless feelings I had. While eating it, I felt like being surrounded by hot chocolate and marshmallows. This feeling made me feel very warm and happy.

I found out that these biscuits are called “Stroopwafels”. In the afternoon, a cup of coffee with a Stroopwafel is a common combination. Put the stroopwafel on top of the cup, so that the syrup of the stroopwafel starts to melt. The taste is absolutely delicious. The helpful and kind receptionist and the tasty biscuits made me fall in love with this city.

This is my story about the delicious Stroopwafels of Amsterdam. If you want to try a Stroopwafel yourself, you can buy one in the bakery next to the M-building or in the AH. Don’t worry about the calories; you should be filled with this feeling of happiness it gives you! What are you waiting for? Let’s enjoy this delicacy right now!

This story is written by the ONCAMPUS student journalists.

Did you already try Dutch food or sweets? Did you like it?

--

--