The Culture Shock

ONCAMPUS Amsterdam
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2016

by Valeriia Gushcha

Which word is usually associated with Amsterdam? Definitely, freedom. Before arriving here, I was thinking that this “freedom” was about legalized drugs, prostitution and the allowance of gay marriages. I thought that the atmosphere of the city could be felt only in various coffee shops or in the Red Light District. I was absolutely influenced by a number of stereotypes. However, after my first days at the university, after speaking with students and teachers, after spending time on the streets and not as a part of a tourist crowd, I have understood that Amsterdam is about freedom of thinking, open-mindedness and of self-expression.

During our first lessons, we were told that having an opinion which differs from teacher’s is OK, that asking questions is good, and that calling teachers by their first names is a common practice. After strict subordination in Ukraine this really shocked me. On the streets, I understood how closed-minded I had been before arriving here. Black or green lipstick during the day? It’s OK. Leather clothes on adult people? It’s OK .Wearing a short skirt if you don’t look like Adriana Lima? It’s OK. In Amsterdam no one will condemn you.

Another personal shock for me was the lecture about “Game of Thrones”. In my homeland I couldn’t even imagine that professors from a high-ranked university would talk about such a topic. In Amsterdam people are not afraid of making the process of education fun and enjoyable. It is one of the most pleasant things in the Netherlands. To conclude, I want to say that Amsterdam is a city with the best atmosphere and people I have ever seen.

This story is written by the ONCAMPUS student journalists.

Have you encountered a culture shock yourself? Please share your experiences!

--

--