Renae Heinze
2 min readFeb 2, 2016

The First Day

I walked to the room. I had so much in my hands that i could barely open the door. The big brown wooden door that i have grown so accustomed to over the years. It was my first time walking into the room. The first day of school. What was I supposed to do? Where was I supposed to put my stuff? I was a freshman with no knowledge of anything that went on in highschool, nervous and afraid of what people would say to me when I walked in. Would they be welcoming and help me, or would they be rude and turn their backs on me? I didn’t know what to expect.

The room smelled a lot like wood. When I finally walked in after what seemed like forever, I found that there were many people there. They were all older than me. They seemed to be talking about how their summer went and other things like that. I felt that it would be rude to interrupt them, but I needed to put my things away before going to class.

After standing in the doorway for a few minutes I mustered up enough courage to ask somebody where I should put my instrument. I walked over to a group of girls who seemed pretty nice and asked. They told me that in class I would get a locker to put my instrument in, but for now they told me to put it by the wall and not to forget where I put it. I thanked them for their help and kindness, put my instrument down, and walked out the door.

Now I am in the room everyday. The girls that were nice enough to help me on that first day of school are now elsewhere. The room still smells like that same instrument wood. Now I know exactly what to do and where to put my instrument when I get to class. I don’t have to be nervous about asking somebody where things go, because I already know. When I enter the room now, I hear the sounds of people talking and tuning their instruments. Now I feel joy when I walk into the orchestra room, but I would have never been able to find joy there without being nervous to ask where to put my violin on that first day of school freshmen year.