What I seen here at U of M

Shizhong Hu
1 min readJan 22, 2016

--

Don’t get me wrong. I love this prestigious school. Studying for more than 3 years since 2012, Ann Arbor is my alma mater, a place where warm enough to call it home during its freezing cold. I enrolled as a CS major at the beginning of my sophomore year, waiting to learn knowledge that I have been dreamed about. However, I found something is missing. I felt extremely lonely both on and off class, the sense of community among CS students is lost once the class is over. I see my fellow classmates are hungry for jobs. They lined up in suit and tie at career fair. Oh, I bet they are known for their pretended smile and courage inside. Through talking with my fellow classmates, I initially realized they are all smart but somehow without talent. Umich students know how to pass an exam, but they are afraid of exploring the difficulties. They are fickle rather than passionate. They all know which social club should join to help them succeed, and they all how to approach professors with a TV man’s face. They are ambitious but lack of dreams. They dreamt of becoming wealthy or of high power, pursuing individual success rather than society’s changes.

I do not mean to criticize my fellow classmates because I am among one of them and I feel sad for myself not helping those people.

--

--