When a First Gen Latina Travels to Tanzania to Learn Swahili

Heidi Rivera
Student Voices
Published in
2 min readNov 22, 2016

--

I know its November and I should of wrote this earlier pero like sijui (I don’t know)

Okay so I’ve traveled to other countries before in my life but this particular trip beats everything else. I say this because I’ve never traveled to another place without family or with people I’ve only known for a couple of hours before our flight. yeah I know..

Tanzania is inexplicably like another oasis. This sounds so eat. pray. love. but its true once I stepped foot and opened my eyes taking it all in I honestly felt like I was breathing new fresh air.

If you were to ask me what I would be doing after my college graduation, this wouldn’t be on the list. Not to say that I didn’t want it, it sort of fell on my lap. hope whoever is reading this could start contemplating traveling abroad in their college careers! Just because you don’t have the money or expenses for the experience doesn’t mean that you’re out of luck! During my college career I contemplated, made appointments with the study abroad office, but left the idea alone for while. Then one day I picked myself up and dedicated time and energy researching opportunities that could allow me to travel the way I really needed to. The CLS program is what I’m talking about here. Read on it. Learn about it. Thank me later.

I just wanted to share some of the takeaways as a First Gen Latina of this amazing amazing trip and learning/growing personal experience I had hope it gives you some insight!

Be as Open-Minded as possible

Don’t be afraid to ASK QUESTIONS

Talk to as many natives as you can!

Challenge Yourself

Take Risks

Originally published at heidiriveracreates.blogspot.om.

--

--

Heidi Rivera
Student Voices

muses. stories. insights l multipotentialite in the making.