Why College Students Need INROADS

Garrett Williams
4 min readJan 14, 2016

--

One of the hardest things to do for an undergraduate student — especially a freshman engineering student — is to get an internship after their freshmen year. Freshman haven’t been exposed to Hooke’s Law, Navier-Stokes Equations, Finite Element Analysis, or the First and Second Laws of Thermodynamics. So how on earth can a freshmen assist in any serious design project? An engineering intern’s job isn’t to simply enter data, proofread reports, make photo copies or buy coffee. It takes at least two years of undergraduate studies to become competent in engineering. So this puts freshmen at a disadvantage.

I was so excited for my first career fair because I thought I would be the exception. It was at the National Society of Black Engineers Conference in Indianapolis, IN. I had a 3.47 GPA., and barely any technical experience. I figured I would be that one freshman that all the companies would want. My first career fair experience ended up being pretty typical for any freshman engineering student:

“Sorry. We don’t accept freshmen, but come back next year.”

“Oh... We’re looking for sophomores and up.”

“That’s a nice GPA. Keep it up.”

“Go apply online, and we’ll get back to you.”

After hearing this dozens of times, I was frustrated to say the least. Anyone would be. Not to mention, a huge hit to my pride. No matter what I did, I couldn’t escape the bad luck of my classification.

Thankfully, on the last day of the conference, I received an email from a recruiter from United Technologies Aerospace Systems. He asked me to come by his booth so I could talk with him. He told me that he found my information through one of their corporate partnerships. One thing led to another, and the next thing I know I’m driving with my dad to Connecticut to start my internship.

Photo Credit: www.INROADS.org

Now, the corporate partnership the recruiter was talking about was a non-profit organization started in the 1970s called INROADS.

“The Mission of INROADS is to develop and place talented underserved youth in business and industry, and prepare them for corporate and community leadership.”-INROADS Mission Statement.

In a nutshell, they want to diversify the corporate environment with quality students with potential. This organization serves as a talent manager. Once a student is accepted into the program, their assigned manager will begin looking for corporate internships that match the student’s career interests. There is a mock interview in the application process that serves more as a training tool than a process for selection. I applied my freshmen year, and had the great opportunity to work for United Technologies Aerospace Systems (UTAS) in Hartford, CT. I was making a very competitive salary, and gaining great experience along the way. Now, there is no guarantee every applicant will get accepted and work for UTAS. And there is no guarantee every applicant will get the internship he or she wants, but I can guarantee INROADS will help you find something to make your summers constructive. I’d rather work at a company or office that expands my technical and professional skills than stay at home with my parents and work at a regular job.

I got the opportunity to develop my professional skills as well as network with students across the country, and company executives. United Technologies Corporation (UTC) and INROADS partner to offer scholarships to outstanding students within the program. They also offer programs for students to receive full-time work and funding for graduate school.

I strongly encourage everyone to apply. There is no application fee. They accept all undergraduate freshmen, sophomores, and juniors across all disciplines. The application does require you to submit a one-page resume as well as an Official/Unofficial Transcript. The minimum GPA requirement is a cumulative 3.0 GPA. (Not sure how strong this cut-off really is, but if you happen to fall below the requirement, apply anyway. Worst they can say is no. And don’t worry. There are other opportunities for you.)

Applications are accepted year-round, but to be considered for an internship for the summer 0f 2016, I suggest turning in an application as soon as possible. To begin the application process or to find out more information, please visit www.INROADS.org/apply.

Photo Credit: http://boeing.mediaroom.com/index.php?s=20295&item=129582#assets_117

The project I worked on during that summer was a system for the Boeing 787 Dreamliner. I got hands on experience in Systems Engineering, and using Matrix Laboratory (MatLab) & Simulink Software. (I was the first intern on this team so I received plenty of help and guidance. All they were looking from me was a willingness to just dive and not be afraid to make mistakes.) The following Fall Semester (1st Semester, Sophomore Year), I applied to an internship program with The Boeing Company. Luckily, my interviewer happened to work on the 787 Dreamliner as well. In fact, he worked on installing the same system I helped design at UTAS. I got the internship with Boeing, and felt it necessary to leave the INROADS program behind.

Although I left the INROADS, it doesn’t mean it did not open doors for me. Without INROADS, I would have never been able to be so young and beat out upperclassmen for similar positions. They helped refine my professional and networking skills. I made some great friends that I’m still in contact with three years later. If you are a freshmen engineering student — heck, if you are a freshmen student at all — you need to apply to this program.

--

--

Garrett Williams

Howard University | Washington University in St. Louis | Environmental Engineer | Seattle, WA |