Why Passion is a Light switch, not a Light Bulb

Arittro
Studio 13 Magazine
3 min readSep 21, 2023

--

Some of my summer nights consisted of a late-night rendezvous to the kitchen to finish leftovers. It was a nightly routine for the dining room lights to stay on after an entertaining 24 minutes of the Seinfeld Show. It was a weird habit. a single light switch illuminating five light bulbs for several hours for no reason. It’s not even that I am afraid of the dark. I just kept it on. Something just strangely fascinated me about how a single light switch can light up so many bulbs.

Now here’s the weird connection, I think passion should act as a light switch instead of one of the lightbulbs. Passion should be something that’s applicable to multiple aspects of life and not something that’s categorized as an aspect.

Overrated Characterization

The light switch is an interchangeable variable in the equation and there isn’t a right or wrong answer. I still think it’s an important answer to get right in your own context. I’m passionate about storytelling and I use my programming, design, and linguistic knowledge as supplements to tell a better story. It makes the whole process more enjoyable for me since storytelling is something I can apply to any aspect of my life. Although it isn’t the same for everyone and mine is still interchangeable, I still think it makes the most sense to make passion the light…

--

--