Are You Happy With What You Do 2,080 Hours a Year?

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readNov 4, 2015

The job hunt. Everyone has done it to one extent or another. We can all relate. But what’s your motive when you apply for that job? Is it money? Your daily commute won’t be as long? Or is something completely different?

I’m more or less self-employed. I grew up on a family owned cattle farm and find myself still working there to this day. It’s not my dream job but I still enjoy it. I get to be outside and be with my dad and brother on a daily basis. There’s a lot to say for that, but it’s not something I’m going to do forever. I went to college and got my MBA and I hope to use it one day.

I was never the one that said THIS is what I want to do when I grow up. I still can’t say that. One of the biggest reasons why I got a business degree is because I have no idea what I want to do! That being said, I always keep my eyes open for a job opportunity. I’ve worked at a few different places other than the farm, and I learned a lot.

If there is one piece of advice that I can give someone looking for a job, that is:

do what makes you happy.

If I would’ve stayed at my previous job I’m sure I would be making six figures and living an extravagant lifestyle, but that job isn’t what made me happy. I didn’t believe I was making the world a better place by sitting in that office 40 hours a week. Eventually, that constant feeling of emptiness weighed down on me until I left.

We spend so much of our lives at our jobs, so I want one that I can say I believe in and makes me happy. I want a job that allows me to be myself and stay true to my morals and beliefs. I want a job where I can say “I helped that person today.”

So what about you? Are you working at a place where you can say it makes you a better person? Are you happy with what you do? I’m not saying quit your job. But at least evaluate it and make sure you’re working towards a cause you’re happy with.

--

--