Hey Guys…. I’m Alive

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readJan 9, 2017

Man, it’s been awhile since my last post… regretfully, over a year. Soooo…. Happy New Year, 2016 and 2017!

There’s no excuse for my absence, I’ve slacked for sure. However, I’ve gotten a lot done in the last year! I started a new job with Columbia College, bought a house, updated a house, joined an amazing church in Columbia called Anthem while experiencing an enormous amount of spiritual growth with my girlfriend, started the hobby of coffee roasting, and finished my 7 yearlong project of building a 1972 Buick GS455!

Although it’s soooo much fun to talk about myself and my day-to-day life, that’s not why you guys read my posts. What about my book?! Oh yeah, that thing. To be honest, it has kinda taken the back burner over the last year, but I’ve never quit on it and keep pushing forward event if just a little bit. It will always be a passion of mine.

I’ve had the privilege of talking with a few families since my book was published, from up north near Canada all the way to the west coast. Their stories are even more incredible than mine and need to be heard! But telling their stories is not my place. These stories are a much needed reminder for me that this is a very common problem today. Many, I mean MANY, families suffer from a loved one falling to a cult, any kind of cult. Religious, atheist, political, you name it.

I’m so happy to see that some people with more fame and spotlight than me are taking a stand and reaching out to the public about cults and simply Christianity. To name a couple, DeVon Franklin and his book, Produced By Faith, and Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath, a documentary that began this past November on A&E. I’d love to join these people in their missions, but that’s dreaming pretty big! I encourage everyone to read and watch these pieces of work. It helps shed some light on what I’d like the world to see through my book and website.

I will do my best to regularly post. Please keep spreading the word of my story. I can guarantee to you that you or a friend knows someone that has experienced something like this. If I can help, great! If not, that’s okay too. They just need to know that they’re not alone.

--

--