Mission Impossible: Make Everyone Happy

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readFeb 10, 2015

I can’t seem to get over the fact that I can’t please everyone. I really want to, but I can’t. I’d be lying if I said it doesn’t bother me. It does. I use to drive myself crazy asking over and over “What did I do wrong?” “Why did that guy give me that look?” “Why did she say those things about me?”

Going back to one of my previous posts, I’m a Weirdo, everyone is different. I’m different. You’re different. And being different means not everyone is going to agree. Next time you watch the news look at every musician, every author, every athlete… They all have people that love them and people that hate them.

Someone is going to get mad no matter what you do, even if you feel it’s right. Don’t let one person’s negative comments steer you in a different direction.

“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time.” — Abraham Lincoln

Knowing that I’m going to make some people mad by publishing my book, The Church Next Door, held me back for a long time. I was scared. I still am. While this story of my cult experience is completely true and put me, my family, and friends through hell, I know I’m going to get some negative feedback. Yeah, I might get some guy to post a comment saying it’s poorly written or something. Whatever. I had no writing experience and it’s my first book. I’ll tell you I’m not an amazing writer. Throw me a bone!

Wow, I’m really selling this book aren’t I?

It’s NOT poorly written, I promise. That’s what editors are for!

Anyway, I’m sure the church my story is about is not going to like it. I may or may not get some feedback from them I don’t want to hear, but I need to get this story out there. In order to prove my point I’m going to make a statement:

I’m not trying to take down the church I was involved in or any other church. Church is good. I changed all of the names in my book. I even changed the name of the church. My story is much bigger than that. It’s not about them. It’s not about me. It’s in every religion, every denomination and every organization that promotes false teachings and manipulates people’s minds. I’m not living in the past, I’m living in the now. I want to help people, not blame others for what happened.

jesse-walters.com

Please share this with everyone you know. The more people that know my story, the more people I can help.

--

--