My One Regret

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readJul 1, 2015

We only have one life. We want to make it count and push to achieve great things, yet sometimes we’re scared to make those decisions. So what do we do? Do we just sit there wait for an opportunity to come? No. We put your mind to something and we work for it, no matter how hard it is.

But at the same time, WE ONLY HAVE ONE LIFE! Enjoy it. Go out and have fun. Blow off work every now and then.

Ugh. Life is stressful. How do we balance that and say we lived a fulfilling and fun life? I don’t think anyone has that answer.

I had a conversation with my friend about this recently. She was getting worried about that balance between having fun in college but also working hard in school and getting internships in order to live a successful life. As I talked with her I began to see the need for that balance. I look back at my college career and I was successful. I had an internship at a commercial real estate company while getting my business degree, and I’m really glad I did it, but I have one regret:

I wish I had more fun!

I worked hard at school instead of going out with my friends some nights. Looking back, my grades most likely wouldn’t have suffered if I didn’t study those extra couple of hours. I’d still be where I am today with more stories to share with my friends if I just would’ve put down the books a little more often. ALSO, now that I’ve been in the business world for a few years, I have quickly learnedit’s not what you know, it’s who you know. Every job I was ever hired for was because I knew someone in the industry. So in reality, while I was at home keeping to myself, I could’ve been out meeting new people. People that could have potentially helped me find my dream job!

So, I guess my word of advice to you is: work hard but remember to HAVE FUN! Make as many friends as possible and don’t worry if you’re not working hard enough. If you do worry about it, there’s a pretty good chance you’re by no means slacking off.

--

--