The Church Next Door Preview!!!

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readApr 16, 2015

The Church Next Door will be available to buy on Amazon within days! Here’s the first chapter of the book to help with the wait.

It was October 2010. I was in my car coasting down a gravel road about 10 miles per hour with the stereo on but I was screaming so loud the sound was drowned out. Tears were gushing out and the road before me was blurred. My face was dark red, spit and snot dripping into my lap. I could hardly catch my breath. My head was under so much pressure I thought my eyes were going to pop out.

I just left my ex-girlfriend’s house looking for something or someone to fill my emptiness. Obviously that was ineffective. We had been apart for a couple months by then, but it was so much more than that. I lost everything. My life had been flipped upside down. I’d moved to a new town, started attending a different school, started a new job, and was newly single after a three and a half year relationship. I had a good relationship with God though. I attended church regularly and thought about Him constantly throughout the day. Yet, I frequently dealt with anxiety, depression, loneliness, and had no satisfaction in my daily life.

“What is going on?” I screamed to myself. “God, why is this happening? Why? WHY?”

Something had to change. Everything had to change. I needed to start over. I needed to go somewhere where God wanted me to be. I needed a community of Christians that I could constantly surround myself with to feel loved and needed in this world. I didn’t care what it took. I was willing to sacrifice and spend as much money as I needed to as long as I got away from the hellhole I was in. The people in my life didn’t mean anything to me, not my family or my friends. God mattered. The Chapel mattered and nothing else.

This is my story of when I joined a church that, for the sake of this book, I will call the “Chapel.” This is a denomination, even though they don’t call themselves as such, spread across the United States and multiple countries around the world. In fact, there is most likely one of these churches in your hometown or neighboring area. This book is my attempt to warn everyone of what could potentially come from the Chapel or any other troubling organization out there, and stop anyone from going through what I, my family, friends and a large number of the world have experienced or are experiencing right now.

--

--