The Difference Between You and Me

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readJul 26, 2015

When leaving my old church and getting out of that dreadful cult experience, I grew very anxious and worried about fitting in. If you look back on my previous blog posts I talk about the constant feeling of no one knowing who I really am. Yeah, I could meet new people, say who I am, where I’m from and what I do, but no one REALLY knew who I was until they hear my story.

I was scared to tell my story in fear of people thinking I was weird and not want to be my friend. It was heartbreaking to think that. It allowed me to take the spiraling fall into depression and not loving myself. I wanted to be someone different. But that overpowering force to get my story out there couldn’t be ignored. I had to tell it. I had to write my book because people need to know it. If I can prevent even just one person from going through what I went through then I did my job.

My book hit the Amazon shelf almost four months. Many people know who I am now. It was a little nerve racking at first but I love it. It’s a huge weight off my shoulders. One of the biggest things I’ve learned from this experience is that:

No two people are alike.

Being an entrepreneur, it’s great to meet different people and bring them into your business. Having different minds in one room can lead to the next big thing for your company. Same goes for our social life.

Because we’re different doesn’t mean we can’t be friends, just get along for the time being or hell, be in a relationship. Our differences help each other experience new things, broaden our horizons, and help ourselves grow while making sure we know ourselves better than we ever have before.

Bring those different people into your life. Don’t judge them because they’re different. Embrace it.

--

--