The One Decision You NEED To Make

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readJun 1, 2015

“Play is a state of mind. The world is your playground, people are your playmates, and your work is a game… You don’t need more free time. You don’t need more money. You can change the world when you change how you see it. It’s only a choice.”- Charlie Hoehn

I believe our minds are more powerful than we can comprehend. Our life can drastically change what we see, do and feel emotionally and physically just by using our minds. It’s amazing.

The quote above is from a book I read a while back called Play It Away. When I was dealing with anxiety and stress after my cult experience I decided I needed help. I realized that the church I was a part of for 4 years engraved these thought processes in my head even though I don’t necessarily believe what they believe anymore. My church was very legalistic. I had a to-do list to follow every day and it was impossible to complete. I felt like a failure and unworthy to be around God or anyone really, and that legalistic mindset followed me into my years of recovery.

I became a workaholic.

Everything I did wasn’t good enough. At one point I was writing a book, getting my Master’s, exercising 5 days a week and working two jobs…. AND IT STILL WASN’T GOOD ENOUGH!!! I needed that impossible to complete to-do list in order to feel like I was at least trying to be a good person, but deep down I never had that satisfaction. I was going back into my depression and anxiety just like I did when I was part of the cult. I had to change my mindset. I had to change how I perceived life. I made the choice to no longer feel stressed.

Play It Away helped me tremendously as well as counseling, but no matter what I did to overcome those challenges it all came down to my perception on life. When I changed how I saw things, everything “magically” started to get better. I truly enjoy life to its fullest now. I don’t have that to-do list anymore and it feels like I’m finally free!

So… the choice is yours. Are you stressed? Anxious? Depressed? You don’t have to be. Yeah, it may not be easy but I promise you can do it.

--

--