What Are Your Gifts?

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
2 min readJan 23, 2017

I recently took a test for work called the CliftonStregths Test by Gallup, Inc. My co-workers and I worked through their questions to determine what each of our strengths are and how we can use them to benefit the organization. I was pleasantly surprised the outcome and how accurate it is.

My “Top 5 Strengths” are:

  1. Connectedness- “to have faith in the links between all things.”
  2. Positivity- “to have an enthusiasm that’s contagious”
  3. Achiever- “to have a great deal of stamina and work hard.”
  4. Input- “to have a craving to know more and improve on what you can already do.”
  5. Arranger- “to like figuring out how all of the pieces and resources can be arranged for maximum productivity.”

Obviously, my #1 strength directly relates to what I do here. My faith is strong and is my main motivator that determines my life choices… job, spouse, hobbies, you name it. I love that. I love who I am because of it, and I feel that my faith is the leading reason of my other strengths; having enthusiasm, stamina, always improving and producing.

Build upon strengths, and weaknesses will gradually take care of themselves. — Joyce C Lock

It’s easy to focus on the things we are bad at. We try to “better” ourselves by getting rid of our weaknesses, but in reality, WE ARE ALREADY GOOD! Let’s just do what we’re already good at. It’s easy and gives us some self-worth.

To be clear, I’m not saying don’t take on risks or challenges in life. I’m saying use your gifts/strengths in order to take out those risks and overcome those challenges.

God gives us all gifts and He encourages us to use them (1 Peter 4:10). He doesn’t expect us to be good at everything.

I challenge you to write down your strengths. You don’t have to take this test, but do take some time and put some thought in it.

What are you good at?

What drives you?

Is it a consistent part of your life? If not, how can it be?

Acknowledge your own strengths and apply them to your life. It will allow you to achieve great things… things you WANT to do… so go do it!

--

--