“When all of our flaws are laid out one by one”

Jesse Walters
Stumbling Forward to be a Better Person
3 min readApr 14, 2015

I’ve been listening the song titled “Flaws” by Bastille. It’s pretty popular right now. They use a lot of creativity instrumentally and vocally, but I actually LISTENED to the lyrics for the first time last week:

When all of your flaws and all of my flaws are laid out one by one
A wonderful part of the mess that we made
We pick ourselves undone

All of your flaws and all of my flaws, they lie there hand in hand
Ones we’ve inherited, ones that we learn
They pass from man to man

There’s a hole in my soul
I can’t fill it, I can’t fill it
There’s a hole in my soul
Can you fill it? Can you fill it?

You have always worn your flaws upon your sleeve
And I have always buried them deep beneath the ground
Dig them up — let’s finish what we started
Dig them up — so nothing’s left unturned

All of your flaws and all of my flaws, when they have been exhumed
We’ll see that we need them to be who we are
Without them we’d be doomed

Talk about hitting home. I feel like we can all relate to this in some way or form. I’ve been on this vulnerability rant for a while now (I hope you’re not sick of it yet!), but if there’s one thing that has proved itself to be true throughout it all is that we all of our insecurities, we all have our flaws. But that’s just it, we ALL have flaws. None of us are perfect so why are we so insecure about it? We build up this perfect image in our head that is unattainable when we are fine just the way we are.

We must “wear our flaws upon our sleeves” and embrace them!

“Without them we’d be doomed.” They’re what makes us who we are.

The lyrics that really grabbed my attention are: “There’s a hole in my soul, I can’t fill it? I can’t fill it?” To bash it in your head one more time, we all have flaws. We are sinners, and as sinners we have this “hole in our soul,” this longing for something more in life. That’s were God, Jesus comes in. He’s the only one that can fill that hole. His love and mercy for us is what completes our lives. Without Him we have nothing.

I’ll even name one of my biggest flaws:

I’m an over-thinker. While it can fall into many aspects of my life, I really notice it when I meet someone new. I think about everything I say, every scenario that could happen, what they’re thinking of me, etc, and by doing that it makes me a quiet person. I think before I speak and I don’t stop thinking!

I’m a lot better than I use to be but it’s still something I notice. It’s not really a flaw but it has a different impact on each person I communicate with, and I tend to worry about that when I shouldn’t. If I didn’t worry I probably wouldn’t overthink in the first place!

What are your flaws? I promise there are others out there with the same ones, I’m probably one of them. Let’s embrace it and be “weird” together!

--

--