A “Stupid” Story: Molly Oldham

Stupid Cancer Staff
Stupid Cancer
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2020

Tell us your name and where you are from:

Molly Oldham, Akron Ohio

Tell us about yourself. What do you do for a living or what do you want to do?

I am a Musical Theater Major at University of North Carolina Greensboro. I had to take a semester off but will be joining my classmates in January 2020.

Are you a patient, survivor or caregiver (or combination)?

Patient

What and when is your Cancerversary? Do you consider it last day of chemo, day of diagnosis etc? Please also include the date.

Day of Diagnosis is August 15, 2019

Do you celebrate a notable cancer date? If you do which one? “National Cancer Survivor Day”, “World Cancer Research Day” etc.

Pediatric Cancer MONTH

Tell us your story:

A week before leaving for college, I was having debilitating headaches. The first time I went to the ER they sent me home with Benadryl and a Migraine diagnosis. Two days later I went back after being asleep for 40 hours, and after an MRI, they found a Baseball size tumor. A week later they told us it was a Stage 3 Anaplastic Ependymoma, (300 people are diagnosed a year). Notably, an hour after surgery, I came out singing Ben Platt’s Ease My Mind. Music has been instrumental in my recovery. 3 weeks after surgery I was able to dance to my high school show choir choreography in Physical therapy. Within 6 weeks I was back on stage performing at the Akron Civic at a Benefit put on for me by Regional Theater Musicians, Broadway Star Natalie Weiss, Alexander Marr, my high School show choir, ETC Heid’s School of the Arts…and several of my classmates from UNCG also came up to surprise me. I learned that Pediatric Cancer is severely underfunded and Want to offer my voice to any Cancer Foundation to help raise awareness and money. I have had the pleasure of singing for foundations such as Angel Works, Hayes Tough, Project Outrun, Hockey Fights Cancer (Columbus Blue Jackets), Pelotonia and Thriving on a Single Ray of Sun. I hope to continue to help raise awareness by volunteering my time for other organizations.

What is the biggest lesson you have learned through this experience?

I have learned to trust myself with decision making and the power of positivity, and not to worry about the little things.

What would you like to say to someone going through what you have gone through or are going through?

Let yourself have bad days but know that you are strong enough to have good days too. Let people envelope you in love, because you aren’t doing this alone.

What do you do that brings you most comfort and joy?

Performing, Music, losing myself in song.

What motivates you to keep going, smiling, fighting?

My family, and the knowledge that I will be joining my classmates at UNCG. My college program was very competitive that they took 6 students. They saved my spot for the semester and I can’t wait to join them. I am ready to get to work!

Any music, movies, books, art that have inspired you during your journey?

Broadway. The theater community has been very supportive by sending me personalized videos of encouragement and love! Both local and Broadway stars have taken time to send their support and it means the world to me!

Do you have a favorite quote, mantra or saying that has helped you during your journey?

Every day may not be good, but there’s something good in every day.

--

--