Finding gratitude at the oncology ward

Francesca Giessmann
Stupid Cancer
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2015

2015 humbled me

The end of 2015 is quickly approaching. And like so many of you, I’m reflecting on another year gone by. Recognizing the highs and lows of the past twelve months helps me move forward mindfully into the New Year.

2015 was not an easy year.

Yes. There were wonderful joyful moments, incredible trips and much growth in my beloved practice.

But it was also a year of stress and fear. After seven years of being somewhat removed from the cancer world I had a very big scare that brought me back to the oncology ward. To all the scans and tests. And to that familiar fear that comes with having been there.
Luckily, and defying the odds, I am cancer free but not without having to undergo two heart procedures and taking a bunch of meds.

I was pissed. Really pissed. I was also fearful.

How can it be that I spend so much energy in taking care of myself and have to deal with these health issues? All that green juice-meditation-gym time is worth nothing?
That was when it hit me. And it hit me hard. At the oncology ward I realized that practicing self-care and taking care of my health it’s a journey.

Healing is a process.

As the fabulous Geneen Roth wrote: “The purpose of healing is not to be forever happy; that is impossible. The purpose of healing is to be AWAKE . And to live while you are alive instead of dying while you are alive. Healing is about being broken and whole at the same time. Healing is about opening our hearts, not closing them. It is about softening the places in us that won’t let love in. Healing is a process.”
And that is when I had an overwhelming feeling of gratitude for being able to take care of my health and realizing that by doing so I healed faster than what everyone expected. My cardiologist even said I had the heart of an athlete. The hospital stays were short. I was back on my feet in no time.
I reversed the story. Because in the end is all about the stories we tell ourselves. When our imagination gets the best of us and uncertainty forcibly grabs the steering wheel in our minds, we have a way of making speculation and assumption. I am telling another story.
I am going way back to basics in 2016. The story that I will tell myself is that :

  • NOW is all I have.
  • I am LOVE and I am surrounded by LOVE.
  • I am GRATEFUL

I am also excited to Break the Healthy Living mold by joining my own group with a SIX WEEKS online program that will help us all turn RESOLUTIONS into HEALTHY HABITS.
If you would like to find out more and register please come over here.

Wishing you all the blessings the Universe has to offer.

May your story in 2016 be one of good health, laughter, and gratitude.

with my love and in vibrant health,

XO

Francesca
The Nourishing Seed

www.thenourishingseed.com

Psst…we start January 7th and special preview pricing available until 12/31 so grab your seat and gift it as the best holiday gift to a loved one. Join us from anywhere in the world.

--

--