Stupid Cancer Staff
Stupid Cancer
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2020

--

My name is Bailey O’Brien and I was diagnosed with stage 3 melanoma in 2007. I had just finished my first semester of college, and it was a shock! I had several sun burns growing up, but nothing prepared me for that moment. I didn’t know much about cancer in general, let alone skin cancer. Would I need chemotherapy? Would I need surgery? Would I die? I didn’t even know what questions to ask.

I went through further testing to see how far the melanoma had spread, and found out it had gone into a nearby lymph node. Fortunately however, it had not spread into any organs, so it was stage 3. After surgery to remove lymph nodes and the parotid gland near the site of the cancer, I had infusions of a form of immunotherapy called Interferon. Once my treatments were completed, my oncologist told me I could return to normal life, besides seeing a dermatologist and getting scans every 6 months.

I returned to college the next year and had two great years of normal life with clean scans. Unfortunately, however, at the beginning of my senior year, I found out that the melanoma had returned and I had a tumor near my jaw. I had surgery and the surgeon missed it the first time, so in the second surgery two tumors were removed. Following the surgeries I had one month of radiation.

The worst moment came two weeks after finishing radiation when I found out that the cancer had progressed to stage 4, and it was in my neck, lung and spine.

I began praying and asking God, “If you’re there, please give me a miracle.” An old diving coach also asked me how he could pray for me. I said, “Please pray that we make the right decision regarding my treatment.”

I began taking supplements right away and after two weeks I took one round (5 pills) of Temodar. One week after that, I decided to make major diet and lifestyle changes and try some alternative treatments.

10 weeks after my diagnosis I had a scan. Much to my surprise, my doctor said my scans were completely clear and I had no sign of active disease. It was the best birthday present I ever received.

I cried tears of joy for days, playing “Good Life” by OneRepublic on repeat and singing my heart out. As I reflected on the gift of my life, I wanted to find out the purpose of my life and answers to many other questions like, “If God is real, how could He allow my friend’s mom to die and yet let me live?” I began going back to church but wasn’t finding the answers, so after going back to school I went to a Bible study for student-athletes. While I couldn’t figure out why my friend’s mom didn’t get to live and I did, I did find enough information to decide what I believed was true about God.

In the months and years since then I’ve learned and experienced a lot, including both highs and lows. I am grateful for my life and the perspective and passion it has led me to and I wouldn’t trade any of my cancer experiences for anything, because I can see how they have been worked and continue to be worked together for much good. While there are many joys in life, I also feel burdened by the suffering of others with cancer and other illnesses, such as that of my sister’s. It is a process but I am learning to find joy in every day, and among others to thank I want to say thank you to Stupid Cancer for sharing Brittany Crosby’s story a couple years ago. Brittany was a picture of faith and perseverance and inspired both me and my sister to persevere through all of life’s challenges. There is always a reason to be grateful.

God bless you all! ❤

--

--