Stupid Cancer Stories: A Day I’ll Never Forget

Stupid Cancer Staff
Stupid Cancer
Published in
1 min readApr 16, 2021

It was July 1, 2020, during a global pandemic. I was anxiously sitting in the doctor’s office with my husband waiting for the oncologist to come in, confirm, and provide more details regarding what the thoracic surgeon had previously told me. She walked in with her PA and had this look as if I already knew, but I wasn’t prepared to hear what they had to say. She said a lot of information on this visit but the only thing that I could actually hear her say is: YOU HAVE STAGE 4 Lung Cancer …. I passed out with my eyes open, I could feel myself slightly falling over in the chair and my heart slowly stopping. So many things came to my mind. Was I going to die? How much time did I have left? Had this spread to other parts of my body?

To continue reading this story, head over to our new blog! Click here: stupidcancer.org/a-day-ill-never-forget

--

--