Stupid Cancer Stories: My Ovarian Cancer Story at 40 Years Old

Stupid Cancer Staff
Stupid Cancer
Published in
Mar 22, 2021

I’ve always wanted to be a mom, but at age 40, I had unsuccessfully frozen only three eggs after two procedures. The paltry result led to surgery, for what was believed at the time to be my prior endometriosis condition. It turned out to be a rare ovarian cancer called Granulosa Cell Tumor. I had an unexpected radical hysterectomy, oophorectomy, and woke up barren and devastated from my surgery.

Everything happened really quickly after that. My port was placed a week later, and chemo began ten days after that. I traveled cross country for my chemo treatments. I didn’t think I’d get through it.

To continue reading this story, head over to our new blog! Click here: stupidcancer.org/my-ovarian-cancer-story-at-40-years-old

--

--